Curve Balls

“I’ve seen better days, but I’ve also seen worse. I don’t have everything I want, but I do have all I need. I woke up with some aches and pains, but I woke up. My life may not be perfect, but I am blessed.”  -Author Unknown

I was raised going to baseball games my whole childhood. Both my brothers played. My older brother was a pitcher and threw this pitch called a curve ball. Everyone knows what that is I believe. A curve ball just kind of mixes up everything.

Sometimes God throws us a curve ball. Life gets messy and we think “Why God?” It is hard to tell why. Maybe He is testing our faith. Maybe He wants to see how strong we are and what we can handle. I don’t know. I don’t think anyone can truly say why God throws us for a loop.

Saturday was Garber Family Day with Lowell’s family. This a day every year where Lowell’s parents and Lowell and his sisters and their families get together and plan something fun to do all day. We rode 10 miles on bike down the C&O Canal. I am not a fan of biking or sweating or hot weather, so this was not ideal for me. But we had a good time. We were the second ones finished and had plenty of time to relax while everyone else finished. Then we went to a park near our finishing point for lunch and games and relaxation. Lowell’s sister took some pictures of the nieces and nephews. We were relaxing and talking when someone got a call that a close family-friend had been in a farming accident and had been killed. Everything was a blur. We packed up all our stuff and headed home. Some of Lowell’s family went to visit the family. While we were sitting there talking with the rest of the family, I kept thinking about life.

IMG_20160709_113503

Power Plant and Dam No. 5 Along the Potomac River

Life is short when you really think about it. Life is too short to live in fear. Our pastor talked briefly on this Sunday. He started with saying that recently it seems like so many people are dealing with many different kinds of fears. I have noticed that. I have been dealing with some, as well as some of my friends. Everyone deals with fear. Our pastor took us to 2 Timothy 1:6-7 which says, “Therefore I remind you to stir up the gift of God which is in you through the laying on of my hands. For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” God does not want us to live in fear.Fear is brought to us by Satan. Satan wants us to feel fear. God wants us to be free of fear. Which do you want?

How great is OUR GOD?! God gives and takes away according to our needs. How can we not praise Him for all He does for us? We do not deserve the grace God gives. But He stills gives it. Seek God. “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:33-34

Praise God every day and every way possible. God is so gracious and giving even when we don’t deserve it. So just praise Him. Just fall so in love with God.

Sometimes the easiest thing to do is cry out to God. But for some reason we wait until the very last-minute to do so, causing more pain and the pain lasts longer. If we cry out to God through the good times and thank Him for what He has provided for us, maybe we wouldn’t make Him our last resort in the bad times when we tried to do things our way and made it worse. Cry out to Jesus. Cling to Jesus.

Has anyone told you lately, “I love you?” If not or even if so, I want to say it. I love you. I may have known you for a lifetime. I might have just met you last week. But I love you. You never know when the last time you tell someone “I love you” might be. Never miss an opportunity to tell someone how much they are loved or hug them or even smile at them. I have learned in my short 21 years that a smile can go a longer way than some words. Sometimes a hug and smile say much more than any words. It is crazy but true. Sometimes there are no words and hugging is all you can do. It is truly amazing how God blesses us with what and who we need right at the right time.

da1347b6835727607791821c89402593

I am a country girl (I know, random right and not really on topic). Anywho, I am a country girl. I love boots and tractor pulls and big trucks and country music. There is a country song by Lee Brice called “Love Like Crazy” and it says “Be a best friend, tell the truth and overuse I Love You. OVERUSE I LOVE YOU! You can never tell someone you love them too many times. Just Love!

“Be grateful for today and never take anything for granted. Life is a blessing.” Don’t take life for granted. Don’t take people for granted. Don’t take places for granted. DON’T take God for granted. These people and things are so important. You are blessed to be alive. You are blessed by the people and places around you. You are blessed by God. God shows us every single day that He is alive and He is everywhere around us. He shows us this by the sun rising and setting, the flowers, the animals, and oh so much more. God gives us people we need. Be thankful for it all!

8a5e52ad9080ffebe733469402a54bf3

In a couple of weeks, Lowell and I are heading to Florida to help my grandparents move their stuff out of the house they just sold to bring back to PA. We were down at grandma’s last week and she was telling us about it and she said, “If you wanna come and help, we will pay your tickets down.” Well, that got Lowell’s attention. At first, I was uninterested. But the more I thought about it, the more fun it sounded. So I called grandma and told her that we would come. We are going to spend a couple of days at their island house before going the Lakeland house and loading up the truck. We are getting a mini vacation out of the trip and also helping my grandparents; spending quality time with sweet people. I am very excited to be going and feeling very blessed.

Family is family. They drive you crazy, but you don’t know what you would do without them. Family is one of the best things you can hold oh so tightly onto in this world, whether they are blood or not. Family is family. “The best things in life are the people we love, the places we’ve been, & the memories we’ve made along the way.”

Mark Twain said, “Kindness is a language that the deaf can hear and the blind can see.” How true is that?! Kindness is just amazing. Kindness is defined as being friendly, generous and considerate. One of my favorite sayings is “Throw kindness around like confetti.” Smile at strangers. Hold the door for strangers. You never know what small action could change someone’s day or life. If we knew every time a small action we did for someone effected them for the good, wouldn’t we do it more? It’s okay if you don’t know. Some people might think you are crazy for being so kind. But wouldn’t you rather be kind & crazy than callous & alone? I choose kind & crazy! I always choose crazy!

Lowell and I recently to Washington, D.C. for our second anniversary trip. We are country bumpkins and not well with the city. We were heading to the National Zoo and got on the metro the wrong way. While waiting for a new train, we started talking to the two gentlemen who had missed their stop. They were from down south and had brought their kids to see all the sites. They told about what they did and how they had met and wondered what we did. They were very interested in Lely Robots that Lowell worked on. They were the kindness strangers. It was so much fun to talk to them. We actually ran into at Arlington the next day and they told us if we were ever down near their way that we could give them a call and they would give us a place to stay. Now I know some people would be very cautious of this, but they were so nice and church going and just southern. Southern Hospitality… How different would this world be if we all treated each other this way? I think very.
c56d36c2239b13be2a36521add5912ee

We never know what God has in store for us next week, tomorrow or even in the next hour. SO be kind. LLove yourself. Love everyone around you. Praise God. Be thankful for what He has given you.

“Be grateful for every second of every day that you get to spend with the people you love. Life is so very precious.”

I love you.

xoxo, kaci

 

Couple of songs::

 

One thought on “Curve Balls

  1. Mom says:

    Great post, Kaci! Say I love you, by showing I love you! At the office, I have posted…Satan will attach FEAR to what GOD wants us to do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

