Faith, Trust & Pixie Dust

In my first post, at the very end in 10 facts about me, I mention my favorite bible verse.

faith

 

Some of you are wondering what is up with my title probably. What I did not mention but am now, is that I can be a little kid at heart occasionally. I love Disney. I love Tinkerbell. Tinkerbell is one of my favorite animated movies ever! ALL of them! Yes, sounds weird, but I love her! I met her at Disney World when we went back in 2013. Yes, sounds childish, but I was so happy! AND Yes, I know it was not really her; just someone dressed as her. AND I promise I am going somewhere with all this.

tinkerbell

Meeting Tinkerbell at Disney World (2013)

In the Peter Pan movies, Tinkerbell is there with Peter almost every where he goes. In the beginning, Peter explains to Wendy that a fairy is born of a babies first laugh. He says there “Ought to be one fairy for every boy and girl.” Wendy notices he said ought to be and questions it. “Every time a child says, ‘I don’t believe in fairies,’ there is a fairy somewhere that falls down dead.”

I think sometimes God feels this way. Every time someone denies Him, part of Him not necessarily dies, but is hurt. God is hurt that we are walking away from Him. God wants us to follow Him and be so in love with Him. John 14:6 says, “Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” How do we do that? Faith and Trust!

I have provided a couple of definitions below:

Faith: Complete trust or confidence in someone or something; strong belief in God or in the doctrines of a religion, based on spiritual apprehension rather than proof.

Trust: Firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability,or strength of someone or something; Confident expectation of something; hope.

A couple of weeks ago, my small group girls bible study discussed Trusting in God. Most of us had or have been struggling with trusting God with whatever we are going through. While preparing for that bible study, I came across an article by Pamela Rose Williams. I don’t know who she is but she is wise. She wrote, “What does it mean to trust the Lord? It means that in everything you do, you ought to look to Him for guidance and provisions. He is the one that enables. He is the one that sustains. He is the one that we can count on for every single thing in our earthly walk.” (For the rest of her article, here is the link…  http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/trust-the-lord-bible-verses-and-life-application/#ixzz4CtvKohnx )

I have 4 nieces and nephews. My two nephews are 2 years old. They are each unique and vastly different. But you put them together and they become more alike. Their unique qualities rub off on each other. It is a blast to watch them interact. Anyway, they each can be little dare devils. While at my nephews birthday party in April, they would climb up on the coffee table and without warning leap off toward me or whoever was sitting on the couch. They were completely trusting that we would catch them; we would keep them from getting hurt. And we did. We would catch them and they would laugh. That is how we should be with God. We should have such a great faith and trust in God so much that we are comfortable to take a leap, knowing that God will not let us fall or get hurt. God is always there to protect us and watch over us whenever we are working for Him. faith step

During my preparation for bible study, I thought about what Trusting God meant to me. I didn’t share this at bible study, but I am going to share it now. TO ME, trusting in God means giving God my all. Giving Him my fears, worries, my good and my bad. Trust in knowing that He is in control and I am not. That His ways are bigger and better than my ways. His plans are better than my plans. That He will lead me through all times, all challenges, all problems, all happy times, all moments worthy of praise; through all times! His love for me is HUGE! “Worrying doesn’t change anything, but trusting in God changes everything.” I spend so much time worrying about my problems and everything going on around me and not enough time putting all those worries in God’s hands and trusting that He will take the weight off my shoulders and carry them for me. It’s so easy to worry and think and obsess over something and takes me so long to actually stop and pray about what is happening. But I am learning to do that first!

I strongly believe that Faith and Trust rely on each other strongly. In my definitions above, trust is in the definition of Faith. Faith leads to trust. As your Faith grows, your Trust grows. Just as true, as your Trust grows, your Faith grows. Faith is believing in God, even when you cannot see Him or feel His presence.

Luke 1:37 says, “Faith does not make things easy; it makes them possible.” God never gives us something He knows we cannot handle. He never puts us in situations we can’t deal with. He never does these things to us when we are for Him. He puts us in these situations because He knows we need Him and it will draw us closer to Him.

I also believe that reading our bibles is not the only thing that will increase our Faith. I am a huge lover of sunsets. Any one who is my Facebook or Instagram friend can testify. I love watching how God paints the sky every single night. Always different and always amazingly beautiful. We went to Oregon in 2013 as well as Florida. I had never been to Oregon and it was amazing. I never thought of Oregon as a super beautiful place. I will never think of it as anything else. The beaches and cliffs and all the scenery. Even dandelions; I know, weeds?! Yes, dandelions, so awesome! Until they take over your entire yard, then not so awesome! You can see beauty in everything is you allow yourself.

20160719_201741

Sunset last night at my parents

oregon

Somewhere along the Oregon Coast

I LOVE to photograph places and things, but some of my favorite things that increase my Faith are the people around me. Watching how people interact and treat each other makes my heart happy most days. I am an outgoing person. I love meeting new people. When I meet a complete stranger who is just so nice and kind that you can see Jesus shining through them, I get so inspired. In my blog last week, I mentioned the two men we met in D.C.. They were so kind and compassionate. They weren’t creepy. They inspired me. I want to be the type of person who people can see my love for Jesus through the way I act and talk. Isn’t that what we all should aspire to be?! I love meeting people who love Jesus. 

There is beauty everywhere around us if we are looking right. We should always be looking for the good in people instead of being bitter about everything. I am not talking to you here; I am talking to me. I need to be happy and look for the good in everyone and everything instead of being annoyed and bitter.

If we allow God into our hearts and give all our problems to Him, how can we not live every single day for Him? God sent Jesus to die the painful death we deserved. SO the least we can do is live every day for Him.

During bible study, we got to talking about all the negativity and bad things in the world today. It is something that a lot of us fear and struggle trusting God with. Everyone was asking all these questions that were far above any of our knowledge. I kept saying, “This is something we will never know here. Something we will only understand when we get to heaven and are with God. In the mean time, we have to put all of our trust in God and know that He knows what is best for us and He will never fail us.” Yes, the future is unknown. But isn’t there where trusting God comes in? God is amazing and He has amazing things for us in His plan. Our priority is to love God and praise Him and give Him our all! Keep our Faith in Him strong and Trust in Him always and He will take care of us.

I am not an expert. I haven’t read my bible, cover to cover. I can’t quote verses left and right. But I do know that if we keep our Faith strong and Trust God so much that he will take care of us. I want to be the person in the first three sentences. But that person doesn’t come over night. That takes time, growing as a person, growing in the Lord. So Trust God with everything and let your Faith grow like dandelions.

dandelions

“When the world has you feeling like a weed in the garden, know that someone out there sees you as a wish; and a beacon of hope.”

 

 

P.S. Sorry If I seem like all over the place. I have been struggling recently with what to write about. I hope that the point still comes across clear!

P.p.s. If you have any suggestions on things you want to hear about, let me know.

p.p.p.s. I love feedback, so let a comment in the box below and if you haven’t subscribed to my blog yet, you can do so below too!

P.p.p.p.s. Fairies require pixie dust to fly!

I love you guys! xoxo

 

as always, music below!

New Country song talking about God.. LOVE IT!

 

Peter Pan said, “To die would be an awfully big adventure.” DO with that what you may!

 

Leave a Reply

