Going Up Against Our Fears!

8756b6dec47f1d55b9bf431c849f7f4d

“Let you faith be bigger than your fear.”

Fear is defined as an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain or a threat according to Merriam-Webster dictionary. Fear is something that everyone experiences throughout their entire life. Fear can consume you completely if you allow it to. “What consumes your mind, controls your life.”

The definition above is a technical definition. A book definition. But then there is this definition.

F.orget
E.verything
A.nd
R.un

OR

F.ace
E.verything
A.nd
R.ise

People fear so many different things. They fear being alone, the dark, snakes, not being enough, and the list can go on and on and on to the ends of the earth. Everyone in the world has different fears than the person right next them.

I am terribly afraid of snakes. I was at the Indianapolis Zoo many years back with my siblings. We were in the reptile building. We were in the snake room and Kala and I were looking at this one snake. He was raised up and looking at us. We tapped the glass, which I think makes snakes mad. Anyway, His head was at the level of us and all of a sudden, he jolted forward right at us. One of the most terrifying moments of my life. Milo, Trae, and Aaron watched and laughed and laughed. We almost cried, as we ran as far away from there as we could. The snake’s head bounced off the glass separating us from him. All the while, still so scary! We just went to that Zoo in April. I walked along the back wall in the snake room.

Since being at that zoo, I have been to many zoos and places with snakes. I avoid them. It is something that is scary to me and I am changing my small ways to avoid them. We went to Lake Tobias with Lowell’s family last year and there was a HUGE snake there. I MEAN HUGE! During the presentation in that room, We stood right in front of the HUGE snake. The snake was in a glass enclosure, but I have seen Harry Potter… I know glass cannot disappear like it did in Harry Potter. But I will never stop thinking that it could happen. I kept glancing back at it and it didn’t move the entire time. But it is just something that keeps me on my toes.

I met my fear once more this past month. A couple of weeks ago, we went up to our family cabin in Cameron County. My whole family went up before Trae left for Washington. The night before we left, we were all sitting out by the fire when Carrie went up to the outhouse. She opened the door and the light shone out onto the ground in front of the outhouse. Right there in the middle of the light, was a rattlesnake. Now, I wasn’t close to it and I imagine if I was Carrie, I might have fainted. I don’t know if we ever have moved so fast, getting to the porch. Dad and the guys took care of the snake as us girls huddled on the porch. I sat in the chair in the cabin later, with my feet up and even made Lowell check under the bed before I got in it that night. The fear is real.

43beb03a37a300142cc9f0bb6b9bf37d.jpg

I saw this quote and I HAD to include it because this is one of the most true things I have seen recently. 

Recently, I have had many people telling that they have fear of the unknown. I kinda of get frustrated when I hear this because isn’t fear of the unknown is constant. Yes, everyone is scared of the future, of what is to come. But are we so afraid that we are holding ourselves back from having fun or doing what we want to do? For a long time, I feared going to certain places because all of the terrorism and wrong going on in the world. Lowell always thought I was being silly. He told me over and over again, “Are you going to stop doing fun things because you are afraid? If God wants to take you home to Heaven, He is going to do it whether you are at home or away, having fun.”

So, what is holding you back? Is your past holding you from your future? Are you holding yourself back? I have read before that sometimes the person holding us back the most is ourselves. We don’t let ourselves feel certain ways because we are afraid to get hurt. We don’t let ourselves do certain things or go certain places because we don’t know what the outcome will be. Isn’t that the fun part though sometimes? Not knowing what will happen. If everyone knew what the outcome would always be, how would anyone be interesting or daring?

640acb5bb72458221c867520d6cf51bc

Erin Hanson said, “There is freedom waiting for you, on the breezes of the sky and you ask ‘What if I fall?’ Oh but my darling, What if you fly?” Take a chance. I have heard the saying, “If you had 20 seconds of insane courage, what would you do?” That might not be the exact wording or whatever, but you get the point. What would you do if you weren’t afraid? I know I posted that at the very beginning. I want to make this my main point.

Fear is something we overcome. The bible says “Do not fear” 365 times. That is one time for every day of the year. God is literally telling us every single day “Don’t fear. Don’t be afraid. I am here and I am taking care of you. With me on your side, what do you have to be afraid of?”

You know how when you were little and were afraid of the dark? You had to sleep with a night-light on and you wouldn’t walk around the corner of the unlit side of the house at night. Recently, my sweet nephew, Graham, will start back a hallway or a dark room and stop and look at me. “It’s dark. You go get it.” He tells me in his cute adorable little voice. I tell him he is fine and he can go get it and I will be right here. He runs in and back out so fast he barely has time to get the ball or whatever he wanted. But He faced his fear. He wanted that ball so bad that he went into the dark room to get it. “Everything you’ve ever wanted is on the other side of fear.”

God is right beside us, watching us go into our figurative dark room. He is outside waiting for us to come back out, conquering one fear at a time. He wants us to face our fears and not let them slow us down. God makes us face our fears to teach us. Just like me with Graham. What would I be teaching him if I went and got the ball for him? God doesn’t give us exactly what we need, but He gives us the resources and guidance to get there.

What are you missing out on because you are afraid?

I am watching Tangled right now. This applies. Rapunzel dreamed of seeing the shining lights. She was not going to let the guards and the thugs and all the dudes at The Snuggly Duckling stop her from her dream. She overcame the fear her mother and all those people who threatened her and finally got to her goal.

We need to have courage. We need to have faith. I believe that walking in fear can be overcome with BIG FAITH!  Faith is one of my favorite things. Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we don’t see according to Hebrews 11:1. At the very beginning, I put “Let your faith be bigger than your fear.” Overcome your fears by showing the devil how big your faith is. Faith in God, faith in people, and faith in yourself.

However often we come in contact with our fear, is how many times we have to overcome it. I may never my fear of snakes. But maybe I will start trying.

We are overcomers. We can overcome anything we set our mind to. With the power of God, we can be amazing overcomers. “Faith tells me that no matter what lies ahead of me, God is already there.”

Be a overcomer. Have BIG faith and small FEARS! What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

Today, I pray that everyone reading this is filled abundantly with faith and rid of fear of the unknown. I pray that God will help you face your fears and give you the faith to do that! I pray for you, your family and friends. I pray that God heals broken hearts and gives peace to those who struggle.

As kids we sang this song from Veggie Tales: “God is the biggest of them all and HE IS ON TEAM!”

WE are overcomers!

Listen to the Voice of Truth..

xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

