Down the Straight and Narrow

Last night, I had bible study with a small group of close friends.

It is a group that has been meeting every other week since April (I’m guessing). It is a group of girls and we get together to study and discuss and learn and love God. So last night, we watched the new movie ‘Risen.’ ‘Risen’ came out this year and is about Jesus, his death and rising again. I am going to talk about some of it without trying to tell the whole movie for those who have not seen it.. but then again, most of the people reading this know the story of Jesus.

I had had the opportunity to watch this movie a couple of months ago. I didn’t watch it then because I thought it was a little too gory for me. There was moments last night where my eyes were covered. But it is a movie everyone should watch!

So, if you are wondering where I am going with this, I am about to tell you!

Jesus!

Guys, today I am going to talk about JESUS! I know, I know… Jesus is a very broad topic. But after last night, I am just inspired. I want to talk about Jesus; the way, the truth and the life.

340efc0a48388b992c09da621174c4e8

In ‘Risen, there is a scene where Jesus is sitting in a room with his disciples. He is just sitting there, casually, talking and laughing with His disciples. It gave me chills and also filled me with a love and comfort of Jesus. Matthew 18:20 says “For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.” We always hear this at church and bible study. Sometimes, I hear it and don’t always feel it or whatever. BUT when you see it… you feel it.!! I felt like Jesus was sitting in the room with us last night and it just gave me a wonderful feeling. It filled my heart with peace in a crazy world!

(DISCLAIMER:: I am going to try very hard to not give any of the movie away. Most of the parts of the movie I am going to talk about are in the bible. I hope to not ruin the movie. I will not be offended if you don’t read this until you have seen the movie. I am trying hard to not spoil anything!)

The other thing that amazed me from the scene was how casual Jesus. He was sitting or a stool or on the floor, talking and comforting His friends. While studying about a month ago for bible study, I read an article on Prayer. In it, it talked about Jesus some. It talk about Jesus understanding our needs as a close friend. Jesus walked this Earth just as we do. He was rejected and hated and mocked. He has went through everything we go through and so much more. Yet, He sits in a room with us, showing us His scars and letting us know that we are so loved and projected by His great love! Jesus has experienced the human experiences that we go through every single day of our lives. How much of a comfort is that?

edc60c3872e3aedc4e053063c2901d97

In the movie, it shows Jesus hanging on the cross. An act of true love for me and for you! The truest act of love this world may ever know was Jesus hanging on that cross. He hung there, with the weight of all my sins on his shoulders and He bore it all. We didn’t deserve it but He did it. He did it to save us and we weren’t even close to existing! How can you ever not be thankful for Jesus and everything He did for you? Jesus loved YOU so much and Jesus LOVES you so much!

We always hear about the straight and the narrow way… and I decided to name this post that because that is Jesus. Jesus is the straight and narrow. Jesus is the one and the only. Jesus is the WAY to ETERNAL life. How blessed are we to have Jesus?

Talking about the straight and narrow makes me think a of movie I haven’t seen for a while. ‘Facing the Giants’ was produced 2006 and is about an “underdog football team facing their giants of fear and failure on and off the field.” It is also an amazing movie and if you haven’t seen it, you should! It is a coach bringing his family, his team and his school closer to God and seeing amazing changes that come because of the relationships built. The coach brings scripture and Jesus to the football field.

This is one of my favorite scenes from the whole movie and one that has an amazing message that goes with it.

 

Don’t go wide left or wide right. Go through the middle and get home! Matthew 7:14 says, “Straight is the gate and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life and few there be that find it.” Follow the straight and narrow. We so easily get distracted by the world and all its craziness. Our attention is stolen by the world and we let our focus on Jesus slip. It is easy to say that Jesus will be our focus, but harder to fulfill that! We take a eyes off of Jesus and everything goes blurry. We focus on Jesus and everything becomes clear. Keep your eyes towards the Sonshine.

There is a poem by Robert Frost called ‘The Road Not Taken.”

0dc5d4f875102af02f12b4cc7876b741

 

The part I want to focus on is the last part..

“Two roads diverged in a wood
And I- I took the one less traveled by
And that had made all the difference.”

There are two roads. The road to Hell and the road to Heaven. Unfortunately, in the world today, the road to Heaven is becoming the road less traveled. But it is worth the lonely trek. Walk down the straight and narrow. Take the road less traveled. The rewards are out of this world amazing! Take the road less traveled and it will make a difference! Stand up and stand out!

In middle school, kids are trying to discover who they are. I know when I was in middle school, I was trying to be liked. I was trying to have a lot of friends. I had so many friends on Facebook. Now, I think me in middle school was dumb. I know now that having a bunch of friends does not mean you are liked and popular! I have a close group of friends and family that mean the world to me and I have Jesus. I don’t need a couple thousand friends on Facebook or a large group of friends that I hang out with to make me feel loved. I have Jesus. When you are friends with Jesus and walking along side Him, you are always loved. You always have a friend. You are never alone.

There is a new song by Micah Tyler called “Never Been a Moment.” My favorite part is the chorus.

“There’s never been a moment
I was not held inside your arms
And there’s never been a day when
You were not who you say you are.
You’re forever.
It don’t matter what I’m walking through
Cause no matter where I’m going,
There’s never been a moment
That I was not loved by you.”

We are never alone and always walking with a friend who loves us so much!

In the movie, when one of Jesus’ disciples were asked what they were going to do next after Jesus left to go prepare a place for all of us, he responded, “I fish for men. How can I do anything else now?”

We are called to be disciples. We are called to share the love of Jesus Christ through us. When Bartholomew was asked where the disciples of Jesus were, he smiled and said, “There are everywhere.” He also said “Our only weapon is LOVE.” Love is the only thing we protect ourselves with; the love of Jesus.

I am amazed at the courage and steadfast love for Jesus the disciples had. They were not afraid to stand up to the Romans and proclaim Jesus. They loved him so much! That is the goal. To follow Jesus and be so in love with Him that we will walk to ends of the earth for Him. To be His disciple and share with the world the love and comfort He provides. We are called to be disciples and to love.

327a98c5d30ef369a6f2deac39fad880

I have been seeing this verse a lot lately because Trae is living out this verse. He is learning to be a disciple and to make disciples. I could not be more proud of my little brother and the love he has for Jesus. 

Love is our weapon. Use it every day. Take the road less traveled. Walk the straight and narrow. Follow Jesus and fish for disciples. Share Jesus with every one you meet. Bow down to the Great I am and love.

The last thing I want to share is this. When asked if he believed that Jesus was the messiah, a man responded, “I believe. I can never be the same.” Knowing Jesus means we are never the same. We are forever changed. “What are you going to do about the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus Christ? I hope you also say, ‘I believe. I can never be the same.'” (A quote from a website that has information about the movie)

In ‘Risen,” Jesus advises us to “Know Him,” as He looked up upon the Heavens. I can’t give any better advice than that!

I have provided the trailer’s for both of the movies I mentioned in today’s post for ya’ll!

59616c7b6036043d11551e72c1100710.jpg

I hope you are blessed today and feel the massive love of Jesus for you! “God keep you.”

xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

